Your Overtime Won’t Pay the Happiness

pexels-photo-26135

Go home. Your family is waiting for you. You don’t live to work. You work to live.

Have you ever heard that words? I do. Regularly. And I have to admit that I am quite agree with that words. I am a 7 to 4 worker in a one of the biggest fertilizer company in this country, and working for 9 hours a day is more than enough. We should have more time for our self, for our partner, our kids, our family.

One of my colleagues always coming home late. Then I asked him why, and he said that he worked this hard for his family. “The overtime payment is high.” Well, I don’t see him in a poor condition. We get a very competitive salary in this industry and it’s more than enough to live.

I don’t blame people who work hard because of their dedication and loyalty for the company. And I don’t blame people who work to pursue their career. But when you work only for money, it’s just not that right for me.

When we go home on time, there’s a lot of things we can do. We can arrange our time freely, we can get a better social life, we can do whatever we like beside our job, we can start to seek for other opportunities. We have 24 hours a day, 7 hours for sleep, 9 hours to work, don’t you want to make the rest 8 hours to be a quality time?

For us who already have a family, Do we want to trade your family’s happiness seeing you at home with that overtime payment? I don’t. Don’t you want to see your kids grow up and saying the first word from his mouth and you’re there when it happens? For me, that overtime pay can’t change the happiness. Our family needs us, needs our time. Because time won’t stop ticking. Because our kids won’t stop growing up. Because our body and soul won’t stop aging.

There are some things money can’t buy — MasterCard.

Leave a Reply

